Ricola Schweizer Krautertee Instant Tea

I’ve been graced with the presence of yet another wonderful cold… so although anecdotal I think I prove that even 10+ cups of tea a day can’t keep the doctor away. I refuse to use any cough drop other than Ricola and a while back I noticed a little coffee shop near work sold tins of Ricola instant tea. The problem is that there were three or four kinds and they are only printed in German and at around $10 I didn’t want to guess. After some research I found that the green tin that said “Schweizer Krautertee” which from my rudimentary understanding of German I believe means “Swiss Instant Tea” was the original. Unfortunately again there were no directions discernible to me so Google produced a few results claiming 2tsp per cup was right. I have to say I’m pleasantly surprised and completely hooked!

Ricola Instant Tea

Ricola Instant Tea

It is light and sweet and while close to the flavor of the cough drops due to I’m guessing the same herbs it is much milder and the added warmth is pure heaven. It isn’t a powder as I thought but instant granules that dissolve immediately with little stirring. I guess it could be considered a tisane since it is all herbal (but I’m guessing a fair bit of sugar) but regardless if you have access to some and any hint of a cold or sore throat I couldn’t recommend it higher for some relief. The shop I went to specializes in European and German imports so I’m not sure of it’s availability in the States but Amazon and a few other Internet retailers have it.

4 Responses to Ricola Schweizer Krautertee Instant Tea

  1. Karen says:

    Hello Dominic!
    Just did a search for this tea and hit upon your site.
    I totally agree with you on having this tea and helping a sore throat or cold. I used to buy this tea years ago 20plus at a store in Chagrin Falls, Ohio. Needless to say they quit selling it and I have had a very difficult time finding it here in the States. While I did find it in Switzerland (many different kinds, all the directions were in German) Since I couldn’t decide which one was the “cough drop” kind I didn’t buy any. Contacted the company and was told they no longer sold in the US but to dissolve one or two cough drops in hot water. Now the great news…..
    just found the tea this week at a store called “Tuesday Mornings” on sale for $3.99 and bought three. I will be returning and buying several more cans as a friend of mine also became hooked on this stuff and was very sad when I told him I could no longer find the tea. Check it out though not all stores may have it. He lives out west and went to a store nearby and they didn’t have. Due to buyouts or closeouts not all stores carry the same merchandise.
    Good luck in your search. I will check back as I love tea too! Karen

  2. Rachael says:

    This tea is common in Austria and Germany, I am also very fond of it now, I reside in Australia and have found certain ALDI stores sell it from time to time under the brand ‘Domaco’.

    • teasphere says:

      I’ve resorted to simply dissolving 2-3 of the Ricola cough drops in some hot water when I couldn’t get the real thing and it is surprisingly close in flavor and effectiveness! I still love the real thing and try to keep it stocked at all times.

  3. Robert Davis says:

    Tiptop Deli and market in Carlsbad, CA, stocks both the green can and the decaf blue can, each retailing for a pricey $11.79, but devotees think the price is right. I use about a teaspoon as an additive to one bag of black tea sweetened with honey. That delivers some pleasant aromatic breathing assistance and stretches the supply for months, at least.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

