Rou Gui – Wuyi Oolong

Rou Gui is one of those teas that didn’t wow me right away and even trying multiple types and years has never won me over… but, on a cold November evening something made me reach for it tonight and I’m so glad I did! I think a lot of my initial disappointment was due to expecting or hunting for a cinnamon flavor that is just never there. Without directly expecting cinnamon and just letting it stand on its own I was able to appreciate the tea itself for what it is, and that is an exceptional Wuyi Oolong.

Maybe it was psychological or maybe it was the brewing (in a very small glass gaiwan with a generous amount of leaf) but I had distinct hints of cinnamon! I guess you find what you are after when you aren’t looking. I’m glad I revisited this tea and I highly recommend trying some for yourself!

3 Responses to Rou Gui – Wuyi Oolong

  1. Suzanne Tiberio says:

    LOVE Oolong,always have since my 1st taste of it when we were taken as children to the Tea Garden in East Liberty! Very good memories thanks to Grandpap Vince,who else!!!!

  2. I would like to order some,Mr. Tiberio!

  3. Also Jeff’s son Justin is interested in ordering some teas. We told him about your site!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

