Algazaleen Tea – Middle Eastern Ceylon Black Tea

Ten years ago I was gifted a small purple box of Dimbula Ceylon black tea it was brought back from the region and was quite unremarkable in every way except that it offered a flavor that I still have not found again in a black tea. Any time I see a new/different brand or type of Ceylon tea I try it just in the off chance that it may be similar. I was at a small Middle Eastern market and saw this bright yellow box of Ceylon tea bags and decided to give it a shot since I tend to focus only on the teas of China, Japan, and India and in hopes that it might have that elusive quality from a decade ago. It didn’t.

The first brewing was extremely strong, heavy, and bitter with even just a 2 minute infusion. I realized this was meant to be high-powered and strong either to stand up to milk and sugar or other similar preparations. This would be a tea to rival a morning cup of coffee, certainly not a light and subtle drink. I then scaled way back to a 30 second infusion, this was still quite strong but more palatable. It had more of the taste of an American Lipton or Tetley tea bag. There were some malty notes peeking through as well. I backed off even more and went with a 15-20 second brew and this, for me, was the balance point. It yielded a lighter cup, but still medium to dark, and it was nicely malty and less heavy and almost no bitterness could be detected.

This is not an expensive or nuanced tea, it is a strong basic tea and it presents itself well enough in that regard. I can see how this lends itself to the more Middle Eastern style of brewing and enjoying tea and for that it definitely fits the bill.

One Response to Algazaleen Tea – Middle Eastern Ceylon Black Tea

  1. Brenna Ciummo says:

    Hi Dominic,

    I was wondering if you would be interested in a guest post. I have a couple of ideas that I think would be a great fit, but I couldn’t manage to find your email on your site. If you could get a hold of me at brenna (dot) ciummo (at) seattlecoffeegear (dot) com, I would greatly appreciate it!

    Thanks,

    Brenna

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

