Dragon Tears, Numi Assam, and Kudingcha

A three-fer today. I started off with some Dragon tears (AKA dragon pearls, jasmine pearls) that I bought in NYC during a recent trip, but I’ve been under the weather lately so it wasn’t doing it for me. I switched over to some pretty good Assam by Numi with honey and a cup with yellow lump sugar (the only sugar I ever even consider in tea). Now I’m feeling like punishing myself and the cold I have so I’m going to throw down some Kudingcha. Kudingcha is not truly tea, but long “needles” or spikes consisting of one really big Holly (Ilex) leaf rolled up. It is bitter as hell, but also has naturally sweet sensation and aftertaste. It took a good bit of resolve to try brewing it enough times to get it right… but I finally got it down. I use just one spike in a 6oz. gaiwan steeped in boiling water for about 30-45 seconds. The second, third, and fourth steeps are the best once the edge is knocked off the bitterness.

2 Responses to Dragon Tears, Numi Assam, and Kudingcha

  1. Jenn says:

    I dont think I have ever heard some one talk about kuding cha except to complain about it. Maybe I shoud try it, Hear it is not for the faint of heart.
    Jenn

  2. Charles says:

    Kudingcha is an acquired taste, naturally, but it isn’t too bad if you have ever tasted a bitter herb like chiretta (absolutely undrinkable). In fact, after typing this I have decided to send away for some more!

Leave a Reply

