Hime Brand – Bancha

Hime Bancha

The Huo Mountain yellow tea is still dominating my tea drinking completely, so in the mean time I’ll cover some teas that I had been drinking in the interest of keeping to a post a day. I bought an 8oz. box of Hime Brand Bancha from an Asian grocery for about $4 and it has been a decent quick cup of green tea while at work. It is very one-dimensional, vegetal/grassy with little else. It is pretty forgiving as far as brewing time and temperature, but it is rewarding if brewed properly. I’ve begun to use very little leaf in my gaiwan to keep the flavor light as it can be a bit much in full strength. It isn’t bad in any way, and recently my taste has changed to the lighter fare of greens (BiloChun) so that may be another reason why it doesn’t do much for me right now. I will say that I’ve paid much more for Sencha that is basically indistinguishable from this tea, so overall it is a good value and a good basic green.

Leave a Reply

