52 in 52

I created a challenge, both for myself and anyone else out there, to read 52 books in 52 weeks. Sadly, reading takes a backseat to many other forms of entertainment these days and to me it is one of my greatest pleasures. I read quite a lot of books in a year covering a wide spectrum of topics and genres but I never kept count or took note. Often people will ask me if I’ve read anything good lately and due to sheer volume I’ll forget about a particular gem, so this new blog will also offer a central point to refer back to and act as an archive. If you are a reader, and even if not, I encourage everyone to set their own goal and I’ll be happy to post your successes and lists as well.

Check it out: http://read52in52.blogspot.com/

3 Responses to 52 in 52

  1. Shen says:

    Dominic,
    Great challenge! But, at my age, I can only do 26, since I have to read each page twice to remember what I just read………………….
    Happy sipping! Happy reading!

  2. teasphere says:

    26 is nothing to sneeze at and I’d love to see the list. I happily read/reread a number of young adult and children’s books which also helps pad some of the longer higher-level books I read. The key is to just slow down and enjoy reading… just like brewing and enjoying a fine cup of tea. However, I also always keep a favorite quote of mine from Einstein in mind:

    “Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking.”
    -Albert Einstein

  3. Jo says:

    Hi Dominic,
    that’s sounds like quite a challenge you’re setting there. I also read a lot but due to the fact that I’m more of a slow reader, I wouldn’t get near 52 books in 52 weeks. So it seems that we are sharing much more than a love for tea (as we found out in a discussion on RDFT a while ago), and now we can add reading to that.
    Funny, the connection of tea & reading… I’ve written a blog entry on that subject myself a short while ago. I’ll certainly check your project’s blog.

    Jo

Leave a Reply

