Pad See Ew – Recipe

Outside my world of tea, I love to cook. While it may be slightly off-topic to my general focus here, I figured I’d share a recipe I came up with the other night that turned out amazing. I tend to cook things like Thai, Cambodian, Chinese, Indian, Italian, and just about anything else that suits me. I’ve never had any formal training but grew up admiring my mother’s wide range of cooking and flavors, my grandfather was also very adventurous and thankfully imposed a “try everything once” rule that I could never thank him enough for. I have an unnatural love for Thai cuisine, but I just always seem to fall short of the amazing dishes I get from local favorites like “Thai Place” and “Sukhothai.” One in particular is Pad See Ew.

Pad See Ew is a fairly common standard which consists of fresh wide flat rice noodles stirfried with a protein (pork, chicken, tofu, beef, etc.) broccoli (chinese or regular) and egg in a sweet/spicy brown sauce. My main failures have always centered around the rice noodles and the exact flavor of the sauce. I’ve used Bahn Pho which work and would be a decent substitute but I think I finally hit a serviceable alternative to fresh: Guobian. Guobian “flakes” are squarish wide dried rice noodles I found at my local Asian Market very inexpensively. So without further ado, here is my take on the dish:

Ingredients:

* 1 cup of rice noodles (Goubian), Soaked until pliable but not overly soft
* 2 tsp of soy sauce
* 2 tsp of Dark soy sauce
* 1 tsp of oyster sauce
* 1/2 tsp of fish sauce
* 1 egg, beaten
* 1 tbsp of sugar
* 1 cup of broccoli florets, cooked
* 1/2 package extra firm tofu cubed marinated in 3 tsp low sodium soy sauce
* 2 garlic cloves, minced
* 3 tbsp of vegetable oil
* 1 tsp of chopped chiles

Directions:

1. Stir fry broccoli in hot wok with some oil and a bit of low sodium soy sauce, set aside
2. Stir fry tofu until well browned, set aside
3. Add 2 or 3 tbsp oil to wok, stir fry garlic and chiles as well as noodles
4. Add the broccoli and tofu back in and all sauces and sugar, continue to stir fry
5. Add the egg, scramble and cook for one last minute.

Feel free to adjust the sauce to suit your taste as my measurements listed are approximations since I do not use measuring spoons as I cook but they should be very close, if anything they are slightly underestimated. Also, if you have it or can find it, the proper sauce is made from light and dark Thai soy sauce like mushroom soy/si ew kow hed homm and no oyster sauce. Mangia!

3 Responses to Pad See Ew – Recipe

  1. bank says:

    I like Sukhothai

  2. teasphere says:

    If you are near Pittsburgh, then I’d also suggest Nicki’s Thai Kitchen in Verona. I just recently discovered it and it is outstanding!

  3. Bryon Brock says:

    Great recipe thanks!

    http://www.asian-tea.info

Leave a Reply

