Red Bamboo, Thistle, and Mead

Maybe it is just because the weather is turning colder or possibly because I’ve been a bit sick for a while but honey has been my vice for th epast few weeks. Shamelessly I brew about 6-8oz. of a regular black tea (often Luzianne teabags which I like hot) to a very low strength and then add in a judicious amount of honey. Basically it is warm honey water with a splash of tea flavoring, hey I like it what can I say.

I also had just run out of my favorite honey, Red Bamboo, that I purchased last year at a Rennaisance Festival and out of the blue got an invitation to go to the last day of this years’. Jousting and medieval crafts and weaponry are right in my wheelhouse but the main draw was my honey guy. J & M Honey from PA. He also sells mead making kits which I passed over last year. I instantly snapped up a pound of the Red Bamboo, and his thistle honey to replenish my supply as well as a 2lb. mead kit. The red bamboo is a nice medium dark honey with a distinct taste that I find absolutely captivating and if you can find it none come higher recommended. The thistle is a nice break from the standard clover honey or the more sweet Tupelo.

As for the mead, I have zero idea what I am doing but I have full instructions and a lot of desire to make it happen so a year from now we shall see how it goes. The suggestion is to make a “cyser” which includes apple cider, but I really just want to make a straight honey mead. As long as I don’t go blind I’ll call it a success… and yes, I did just admit to enjoying Luzianne teabags hot.

Leave a Reply

