Bodum 16oz. tea/coffee french press travel mug

Bodum makes some clean and elegantly designed kit for both tea and coffee drinkers. Their Pavina double walled glass cups are legend and I highly treasure a set of Yo-Yo Mug/infusers that I use almost daily at home. On the road, though, it can be a tricky thing to enjoy a decent cup of tea. The Chinese use smallish thermoses where they just toss in some leaf and hot water and then continue to top it off throughout the day, but that doesn’t let you regulate the brewing time so it limits the type of tea you can really enjoy. I came across these french press travel mugs about a year ago and the concept is pretty solid allowing you to stop the brewing process but also top off through the day. Best of both worlds. Kinda.

 

Bodum French Press Travel Mug

Bodum French Press Travel Mug

 

 

The major flaw is in the fact that the plunger bottoms out with about 2″ to spare, way too much room left. It does work really well for coffee though. The other minor quibble is that the tea does continue to brew, albeit slower, even when the plunger is down so it will still turn bitter or strong if you don’t drink it quickly. Even with the flaws it is one of the better travel solutions I’ve hit on so far.

I’d love to hear what travel solutions you have come up with in the comments.

5 Responses to Bodum 16oz. tea/coffee french press travel mug

  1. supremehardware says:

    I agree with you, I also did a review of this product and have found that you don’t have much time to enjoy the actual taste or coffee or tea, even though it does keep it warm.

  2. The whole idea of travel french presses is somewhat backwards, considering you only have a few minutes to enjoy the coffee yet these want you to keep the coffee in there for the duration of the drinking.

    Still a cool little product though

  3. Eric says:

    Interesting. I did a huge round-up of tea travel mugs on my blog last month, but I didn’t come across this one. I like the press concept, but it does suck that it doesn’t reach the bottom. A lot of the tumblers I checked out had little infuser baskets sitting at the top of the tumbler, so I think that’s a pretty good solution.

    Anyway, if you’re interested in checking out some of the other mugs available out there, this is the overview I created:

    http://teafinelybrewed.com/tea-travel-mugs

    Cheers,
    Eric

  4. […] Bodum 16oz. tea/coffee french press travel mug « teasphere […]

  5. NGugle1 says:

    Pretty component of content. I just stumbled upon your website and in accession capital to claim that I acquire in fact loved account your weblog posts. Any way I will be subscribing to your feeds and even I achievement you get admission to consistently quickly.

Leave a Reply

