Finally emerging from my tea rut

It happens generally once a year for me, I get into a set of 3-4 teas and I drink them almost exclusively. On one hand it is a good thing because it allows me to fully explore each one and get to know it intimately, but on the other it doesn’t make for very exciting posts or occurrences. As much as I love teasphere my love for tea has to come first and if it means a dry spell or two it just has to be that way. My most recent (and one of my longest) ruts has included: Huo Shan Huang Ya (yellow tea), Bi Lo Chun (green tea), Shui Xian (oolong tea), and Song Zhong Dan Cong (oolong tea). There have been a couple others tossed in here and there like an occasional Ceylon or Tai Ping Hou Kui but they are very rare additions. Most of them have been teaspring.com teas with the exception of one BLC and one Shui Xian being from Hou De Asian Art.

I’m not sure if it is the warming weather or just burnout but I am finally starting to crave some new adventures. My plan is to explore one of my lesser traveled paths, black/red teas. I really want to learn and explore what is out there in this area and I think it will help round out my development. I’m open to suggestions or comments on your favorites from this cross-section of tea and I look forward to covering it all as it develops. Stay Tuned!

2 Responses to Finally emerging from my tea rut

  1. Beatrice says:

    Hi Dominic!

    First of all, I’d like to congratulate you on the blog—it’s proved not only to be an interesting and engaging read for tea aficionados and food enthusiasts alike, but a reliable source of information as well. It’s always exciting to come upon people so passionate about something that they can’t help but share it to the world.

    And seeing as how one of your passions is tea, I just wanted to make sure you knew about our upcoming tea exhibition here at UCLA’s Fowler Museum, aptly named Steeped In History: The Art of Tea. The exhibition will be on display from August 6 to November 29, 2009 and will feature everything related to tea—oil paintings, prints, photographs, ceramics, as well as other tea-serving paraphernalia, all gathered from around the world. And the best part aside from everything I’ve mentioned? Tea will be served! I’ve attached the official press release for the event (http://newsroom.ucla.edu/portal/ucla/fowler-exhibition-tells-story-93693.aspx) and I’m hoping you’ll be able attend the exhibit and see everything for yourself.

    We at the Fowler would also be more than grateful if you can forward this information to family and friends that might be interested in viewing the exhibition, or perhaps discuss this upcoming event in your blog/site for all of your tea-loving readers to see. I’m sure they’ll be very interested and thankful for the information you’d be able to provide regarding this.

    Best of luck in your site, and may everything go tea-rrificly!

    Sincerely,
    Beatrice Eyales
    UCLA Fowler Museum, Marketing and Communications Dept.
    E-mail: beatrice.eyales@berkeley.edu
    For pictures and other information, e-mail Stacey Abarbanel at staceyra@arts.ucla.edu

  2. Jason Witt says:

    I can see why you’d want to stick with the good Oolongs. I drink a lot of the same everyday Oolongs but I do like to get samples of different teas to try in small amounts also. I do both so it’s balanced: regular teas and samples.

Leave a Reply

