Arya Pearl white tea – Thunderbolt Tea

In a recent shipment of tea from Thunderbolt tea a tiny packet tucked in amongst the Darjeelings stuck out: Arya Pearls. It was a very small and light packet and the fact that I had never heard of it intrigued me.

When I opened it I was floored! This was tea so delicate and pristine words fail it! Not rolled or processed and certainly not silver needles, this is leaf plucked and allowed to dry as-is by the sun only. Nothing more. Just huge full brittle leaves and leaves with bud in all their glory and a wonderful light green color. Photo’s will be coming because it is just necessary.

It has a briney scent almost like crab. Delicate and sweet. Upon brewing it there is almost no discernable change in water color or aroma. Really good water is a must! A slight briney and vegetal note, but very slight. The taste, however, is without a doubt, the most exquisite white tea I have ever enjoyed! I’m not a silver needle fan, and most whites don’t interest me as I’d rather have a yellow. This is like the perfect fusion of the two styles and it is magical.

Delicateness and subtlety are the names of this one, and it really shouldn’t be missed for any tea lover out of sheer uniqueness and rarity. White tea fans shouldn’t have even wasted this much time reading before ordering! 2010 is starting out to be a great year!

4 Responses to Arya Pearl white tea – Thunderbolt Tea

  1. Marlena says:

    This sounds absolutely wonderful! Thanks for the review.

    • teasphere says:

      It really is a special tea, it truly surprised me. I would say, though, that a good Huo Shan Huang Ya (yellow tea) is a very close approximation in flavor and appearance and much cheaper. It’s just not quite as large/full dried leaf and it is a bit heavier in flavor but they have many parallels across the board. If you only brewed it for maybe 15-20 seconds I bet they would be almost identical in flavor. Photo’s of the leaf will be coming soon, I lost my camera cable. :)

  2. Lisa B says:

    oooo great review…I’m going to add this to my list.. Wow DO I ever have a list of teas to review!

  3. vlado says:

    it tastes very much like top grade an ji bai cha to me.

Leave a Reply

