GSI Backpacking Kettle Field Report

A little while back I wrote a short piece on a new GSI backpacking tea kettle I had received (Original Post) and while I had done a couple tests in the comforts of my home, today I got to use it for real. I love rainy days so a rare ~50F degree winter day promising steady rains might not spark much excitement in the normal person, but to me this meant a great day for hiking! I never claimed to be normal. Rain normally spoils most hikes, but for me I would rather hike in the rain than the sunniest of days. Good rain gear is essential, but it’s not that hard to do. A Marmot Precip lightweight rain jacket over a fleece and synthetic long-sleeved t-shirt and some polypropylene long-underwear under a pair of nylon zip-off pants, and my North Face Surge daypack and I’m off. I brought along the GSI kettle and my Coleman F1 Ultralight stove with a small canister of Jetboil fuel… and most importantly some Song Zhong Dan Cong. The darker flavor with hints of peach would be perfect after a few hours of cold and wet hiking.

After about 5 miles I found a small wooden bench along the trail which would be the perfect spot to test out the kettle and down some tuna salad and crackers. I set up the stove and poured 16oz. of cool water into the kettle which rested perfectly stable on the diminutive backpacking stove. From the initial flame to boil was about 2 minutes, maybe 2.5 at most! That’s pretty fast! I brewed up some tea in my stainless steel mug as the rain poured down and the warmth of the mug was sublime on cold hands. The tea was exactly what I needed, and with about 8oz. of water left in the kettle I made a quick packet of Lipton chicken noodle soup. Belly warm and full I began to repack the gear for the journey homeward. The kettle was completely cool in just the short time it took me to drink the soup! A big bonus. The stove took a bit longer to cool down for packing. The only drawback was that when pouring the last of the water for the soup I had to tilt the kettle almost vertical and my initial concerns about the loose-fitting lid were correct, it would flop out if not held in place during pouring. They do have a nice rubberized handle on the lid to make this easy even with bare hands, but it just seems so unnecessary. I’ll probably make a small modification to have the lid fit snugly, but it really isn’t a major deal. When I repacked the small fuel canister, it felt barely used! Since the rain was picking up and the stove was still hot I decided to just heat another 10oz. of water for a second cup for the last 2 miles. Less than 2 minutes to the start of a boil, even with cold rain and wind! packed it all away and enjoyed the last leg while sipping some hot Song Zhong which made the miles seem like feet.

Completely happy with the performance and utility of this kettle in about as poor conditions as possible. Even after the second boil I would mistake the small canister for a fresh one! Almost no major fuel use which is a massive plus for this kettle. A great addition to the pack.

9 Responses to GSI Backpacking Kettle Field Report

  1. Gene F says:

    Thanks for the review nice to know there are other loose leaf tea hikers/campers out there. The only thing I’m concerned with is if I get busy and let it run dry on the stove will it ruin the kettle? I don’t really know what halulite is but I suspect it is just anodized aluminum. But I may be wrong.

  2. teasphere says:

    It seems like an anodized aluminum, but it is way lighter than normal cookware type. For me I’m always trying to conserve fuel so I’m “late” if I don’t kill the gas the second I reach my temp. I’d imagine it could melt or become ruined if left long enough and at high temps… it does hold a lot of water though, so adding some extra water as a safety net wouldn’t be much issue. Good to hear there are a few of us out there!

  3. It also allows you to capture & store videos while you are out for a
    tour or picnic with friends. As you progress
    to the next higher level, the game becomes tougher. They only need
    to spend more affordable value for the technologies meanwhile they can get the exact same
    satisfaction as when they use i – Pad.

  4. charity jobs says:

    Basically, everywhere where there are lots of people or items
    that need to be cooled can benefit from one of the portable air conditioning units available.
    Also be aware that any indoor pet, such as a cat or dog,
    may want to drink from your pond and then find himself a healthy treat in the
    process. However, installing a bathroom in a basement that hasn’t already been stubbed for a bathroom can be very difficult and costly.

  5. This design is spectacular! You obviously know how to keep a reader entertained.
    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost
    moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Fantastic job.
    I really loved what you had to say, and more than
    that, how you presented it. Too cool!

  6. Overall, if you need more storage capacity, then you should definitely get yourself a 6th Generation i
    – Pod Classic. Some people will rely on transferring data
    between flash drives and their home computers, or sending what they wish to have printed to a proxy, such as Fed – Ex.
    s r CMOS sensor, BIONZ impression processor chip in
    addition to a Sony Grams contact with powerful (10x optical move, 25-250 mm range) wide-angel
    mega-zoom (26 mm) help in choosing stunning golf swings quite possibly
    with low-light circumstances.

  7. brianna says:

    This slim and light tablet comes with specifications that
    provides high computing power. These tablets are frequently over the
    a hundred and fifty mark but offer you a considerably broader and longer lasting expertise.
    The actual pc is usually Wi-Fi enabled and can connect to web anywhere.

  8. accomodation says:

    Oh my goodness! Amazing article dude! Many thanks,
    However I am encountering issues with your RSS. I don’t know why I can’t join it.

    Is there anyone else getting identical RSS problems? Anyone that
    knows the solution can you kindly respond? Thanks!!

  9. Admiring the persistence you put into your site and in depth
    information you provide. It’s nice to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same old rehashed information. Fantastic read!
    I’ve saved your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

Leave a Reply

